ZZ Top Will Release A 50th Anniversary Compilation

ZZ Top Will Release A 50th Anniversary Compilation | I Love Classic Rock Videos

ZZ Top performing Give Me All Your Lovin' live - ZZTopOfficial1 / Youtube

Blues rock bearded legends ZZ Top announces the release of their 50th Anniversary commemorative album, Goin’ 50, this coming August 16, 2019.

The golden anniversary album will be comprised of 3CD/5LP packages that features 50 tracks, as celebration of the iconic roots trio who originated from Houston, Texas in 1969. The whole set comprises of songs from the band’s extensive 15-album compilation, ranging from their 1971 debut album ZZ Top’s First Album, down to their latest, 2012’s La Futura.

ZZ Top’s rise to the mainstream rock scene, while maintaining their blues roots, allowed them to find relative success in the 1970s by being the first of their kind to break in to the airwaves. The band continued to rise in fame and reach for the next two decades, all thanks to their fresh, innovative sound that was paired with memorable music videos. America was the first to experience ZZ Top’s influence with the massive airtime they got for their material, and eventually crept to foreign territories.

From ZZ Top’s Instagram account, @zztop.

The 1983 album Eliminator paved the way for their commercial success, raking over an impressive 10 million sales in the US, while the 1985 album, Afterburner, saw 5 million sales in US soil.

The 50-anniversary album Goin’ 50 will also feature two bonus tracks, “Salt Lick” and “Miller’s Farm“, the former a single, and the latter as a b-side track. These were originally recorded in 1969 by the pioneering ZZ Top members, guitarist Billy Gibson, bassist and organ player Lanier Grieg, and drummer Dan Mitchell.

The album set is neatly concluded by the live versions of their 1973 quintessential tracks, “Waitin’ For The Bus” and “Jesus Left Chicago“, which were also a part of the band’s recent 2016 live album, Live Greatest Hits From Around The World. Goin’ 50 will also be available as a single CD offering containing 18 tracks, in conjunction to digital and streaming counterparts of it.

The band will be hosting a three-date show in Texas for the 50th anniversary celebration, covering Dallas, Houston, and Austin. ZZ Top will be embarking on a full North American tour on the same day of Goin’ 50‘s launch date.

Here is Goin’ 50’s tracklist:

Disc One

1.  “La Grange”
2.  “Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers”
3.   “Tush”
4.   “Salt Lick”
5.   “Miller’s Farm”
6.   “(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree”
7.   “Francine”
8.  “Heard It On The X”
9.  “It’s Only Love”
10. “Arrested For Driving While Blind”
11. “Enjoy And Get It On”
12. “I Thank You”
13. “Cheap Sunglasses”
14. “I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide”
15. “Leila”
16. “Tube Snake Boogie”
17. “Pearl Necklace”

Disc Two 

1.  “Gimme All Your Lovin'”
2.  “Got Me Under Pressure”
3.  “Sharp Dressed Man”
4.  “TV Dinners”
5.  “Legs”
6.  “Sleeping Bag”
7.   “Can’t Stop Rockin'”
8.  “Stages”
9.  “Rough Boy”
10. “Delirious”
11. “Woke Up With Wood”
12. “Velcro Fly”
13. “Doubleback”
14. “Concrete And Steel”
15. “My Head’s In Mississippi”
16. “Give It Up”
17. “Decision Or Collision”

Disc Three

1. “Viva Las Vegas”
2.  “Gun Love”
3.  “Pincushion”
4.  “Breakaway”
5.  “Girl In A T-Shirt”
6.  “Fuzzbox Voodoo”
7.  “She’s Just Killing Me”
8.  “What’s Up With That”
9.  “Bang Bang”
10. “Rhythmeen”
11. “Fearless Boogie”
12. “36-22-36”
13. “Piece”
14. “I Gotsta Get Paid”
15. “Waitin’ For The Bus” (Live)
16. “Jesus Just Left Chicago” (Live)