The Grateful Dead Origins Now Comes With A Soundtrack Package

The Grateful Dead Origins Now Comes With A Soundtrack Package | I Love Classic Rock Videos

Grateful Dead Origins interior artwork - Z2 comics

The upcoming Grateful Dead graphic novel Grateful Dead Origins will be released with a soundtrack package alongside it. This release is curated by Dead archivist and legacy manager, David Lemieux, and will feature 13 archived recordings from the band’s earlier years, with a collector’s edition version that will feature a special four-track vinyl recording of the unreleased live performances of the band from their Fillmore West set in 1968.

Comic creator Z2 comics said, “Grateful Dead Origins tells the story of the band’s transformation from a bar band performing as the Warlocks to becoming the creators of their own sound and cultural movement through their music and community. Artist Noah Van Sciver illustrates an original history created by writer Chris Miskiewicz. The graphic novel will be available in two editions: a standard edition and a limited run collectors deluxe edition.”

The vinyl record from the collector’s edition will include the first-known West Coast live version of “St. Stephen”, along with “William Tell Bridge”. These tracks were from the eight-track analog recorded concert and were specifically mastered for this new release.

David Lemieux said, “We’ve seen many archival releases that offer magnificent audio representations of the Grateful Dead’s history, and several filmed interpretations of the Dead’s story. To these, we’re thrilled to add to the Dead’s narrative canon this beautiful portrayal of the Dead’s origin story in the form of this wonderful new comic.”

Grateful Dead Origins Track Listing
1. “The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)” 
2. “Cream Puff War”
3. “Walking The Dog” 
4. “Viola Lee Blues” 
5. “Hey Little One” 
6. “That’s It For The Other One”
7. “Midnight Hour” 
8. “Standing On The Corner” 
9. “China Cat Sunflower” 
10. “Big Railroad Blues” 
11. “Morning Dew” 
12. “Keep Rolling By”
13. “Cosmic Charlie”

Collectors Edition Vinyl Track Listing
1. “Dark Star”
2. “St. Stephen”
3. “The Eleven”
4. “Death Don’t Have No Mercy”