David Bowie’s 1974 Live Tour Album In Record Store Day

David Bowie’s 1974 Live Tour Album In Record Store Day | I Love Classic Rock Videos

David Bowie for the music video of "Let's Dance" - David Bowie / Youtube

David Bowie’s unreleased recordings from his 1974 tour will be packaged as an album called I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74) in time for Record Store Day, which will be on the 18th of April.

The release features a 2-disc set which will be offered in CD and vinyl formats. Much of the material that comprises this live album comes from the Michigan Palace show in Detroit on October 20, 1974, which is a full-length show with the exception of “Diamond Dogs”, which wasn’t recorded in its entirety. The album’s final three tracks are from a Nashville Municipal Auditorium show on November 30th of the same year. These tapes and recordings were just recently found in Bowie’s archives.

I’m Only Dancing is the first official release from Bowie’s Soul Tour, as the previous concert recordings from 1974 like David Live and Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74) stems from the first installment of the said tour. There is another Record Store Day exclusive from Bowie’s estate, Changesnowbowie, which consists of rehearsals for Bowie’s 50th birthday concert at New York’s Madison Square Garden.

David Bowie – ‘I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74)’ Track Listing

Disc One
1. “Introduction – Memory of a Free Festival”
2. “Rebel Rebel”
3. “John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”
4. “Sorrow”
5. “Changes”
6. “1984”
7. “Moonage Daydream”
8. “Rock ’n’ Roll With Me”
9. “Love Me Do / The Jean Genie”
10. “Young Americans”

Disc Two
1. “Can You Hear Me”
2. “It’s Gonna Be Me”
3. “Somebody Up There Likes Me”
4. “Suffragette City”
5. “Rock ’n’ Roll Suicide”
6. “Panic in Detroit”
7. “Knock on Wood”
8. “Foot Stomping / I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate / Foot Stomping”
9. “Diamond Dogs / It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It) / Diamond Dogs”